

### <u>BOARD OF TRUSTEES</u> Annual Reorganization Meeting MINUTES/June 22, 2021

Recording Secy Maureen Hulings on behalf of **Board President Nyaboga** called to order the Annual Board of Directors Reorganization Meeting of the Dr. Lena Edwards Academic Charter School on June 22, 2021 via Electronic Zoom Meeting at 5:17 PM; she then advised "In accordance with the New Jersey P.L. 1975, Chapter 231 (<u>SUNSHINE LAW-OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT</u>) adequate notice of this **Annual Reorganization Meeting & Regular Board Meeting** has been provided to the Offices of the City Clerk of Jersey City & the Hudson County Superintendent of Schools, the Jersey Journal & the Jersey City Reporter. She took attendance:

ROLL CALL		
TRUSTEES	Present	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X	
JOSEPH DI FEO	X	
PHYLLIS FASONE	X	
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X	
EUGENE SQUEO	X	
PATRICIA MADISON	X	
KEITH DAVIS	X	
SHARON SANTANA	X	

#### EXECUTIVE STAFF PRESENT:

Christopher Garlin, CEO Dr. Brian Falkowski/SBA/Board Secy. Francis E. Schiller/General Counsel Maureen Hulings, Recording Secy. Also present: James Brewer, Principal Jeffrey Mohr, Asst. Principal

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/21/1 Approval of DLEACS 2021-2022 Board Meetings Schedule **Vote: 8-0** 

**Eugene Squeo**, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, advised the Board that the nominating committee recommended **Eugene Squeo & Patricia Madison** to be reappointed if they would accept 3 yr. terms as Board members; they agreed to accept the nominations.

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/21/2 Reappointing Board Members, Eugene P. Squeo & Patricia Madison for 3 Year Terms Expiring July 1, 2024;

# Vote: 8-0

**Eugene Squeo**, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, advised the Board that the nominating committee recommended **Sharon Santana** to be reappointed if she would accept a 1 yr. term as Parent Representative Board Member; she has agreed to accept the nomination.

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/21/3 Reappointing Board Member, Sharon Santana for 1 Year Term as Parent Representative Board Member Expiring July 1, 2022;

#### Vote: 8-0

**Eugene Squeo** said the Nominating Committee had agreed on the following Trustees names to be placed in nomination as follows:

Andrew Nyaboga	President
Joseph DiFeo	Vice President
Phyllis Fasone	Treasurer

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to approve Resolution 6/21/4 Appointing Andrew Nyaboga as President, Joseph DiFeo as Vice President & Phyllis Fasone as Treasurer each for a 1 year term to expire July 1, 2022;

## Vote: 8-0

**Eugene Squeo** said the Nominating Committee recommended & agreed on the following Committees and members for the 2021-2022 SY as indicated on <u>Exhibit A attached</u> <u>hereto</u>;

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to approve Resolution 6/21/5 approving the Committees and members on the attached list marked as Exhibit A, each for a 1 year term to expire July 1, 2022;

## Vote: 8-0

Maureen Hulings called for a Motion to adjourn the Annual Reorganization Meeting. **Vote: 8-0** 

June 22, 2021 Annual Reorganization Meeting Minutes were approved on July 27, 2021 Vote: 8-0 Certified to be a true copy

Dr. Brian Falkowski/SBA/Board Secretary Dated: July 27, 2021